Pumpkin Friday: 1

Well just as planned, this morning was the first in what will hopefully be a weekly routine: hacking a pumpkin to death on my tiny kitchen table.  If you detect an air of gravity in today’s tone compared to last night’s, you’re absolutely right.  I saw a lot this morning.  I learned a lot too, like the importance of following recipes.  And the value of patience.  Regardless, Pumpkin Friday was a resounding success.  Like a Cherokee brave butchering a buffalo, I used every part of my pumpkin.  Waste not, want not.  So after about 2 hours of slicing, gutting, roasting, blending, straining, seasoning, drafting, carving, and cleaning, here’s what I got from my gourde:

  • Over a quart of pumpkin puree
  • A bag of roasted pumpkin seeds (seasoned with pumpkin spice, orange peel, chipotle powder, salt + pepper)
  • A big mug of hot pumpkin juice (surprisingly delicious)
  • And last but not least…

Louis, the LES Jack-o’-Lantern

… this bad boy.  Meet Louis, the first communal Jack-o’-Lantern of the Lower East Side.  Keeping with the theme, carving him was in many ways a learning experience (let’s just pretend those missing teeth were intentional).  Still, for round one I’m pretty proud.  As of 1:00 this afternoon, Louis was sitting comfortably on a ledge in the intersection of Allen and Houston St.  Time will tell how the community embraces him.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

UPDATE 9/19:


Trouble brewing…

At 6:00 Friday night I checked up on Louis, finding that he had inexplicably moved from the comfortable ledge he was perched on to the sidewalk about 15 feet away.  His new spot was no doubt more precariously located in the middle of foot traffic, but I stayed true to the experiment and left him there.

Sadly, later that night there were no more signs of Louis.  I’d like to think he was taken in by nice family with a rooftop garden, but deep down I suspect a much more sinister fate.

Oh well, ’tis the season for smashing things.  T minus 5 days until Pumpkin Friday Round 2.


One comment on “Pumpkin Friday: 1

  1. […] in the fridge: pre-baked, they just need to be zapped in the microwave to be perfect.  Thanks to Pumpkin Fridays, I’ve got more pumpkin puree than I know what to do with anyway, so trading it for some delicious […]

Leave a Reply

