The Beer List: Looks CAN be deceiving.

Do not underestimate this beer.

There were a few more really fantastic beers this week.  First off – Dennis, thanks for another awesome suggestion.  Dale’s Pale Ale took me completely by surprise.  The look of it – comes in a can, simple name, very unassuming logo – completely belies the complexity and quality of the beer.  This was one of the creamiest pale ales I’ve ever had, with round, warm flavors ranging from baked pears to peanut butter.  The sweetness was perfectly answered by a soft bitterness that coated the throat rather than burned the tongue.  This beer is awesome – and a really great choice for the colder weather.  

Another beer to definitely look out for: Cane and Ebel.  This is one of my absolute favorites.  It comes from Two Brothers, a funky little brewery outside of Chicago that produces a small handful of really quality beers.  One of the reasons I love it so much – aside from the complexity of the rye, the full hop flavor, the beautiful color, and completely clean finish – is the fact that it reminds me of one of my favorite beers from college: Dock Street Brewery’s Rye IPA.  Cane and Ebel isn’t the easiest to come by, but if you should see it at a whole foods get it.  It’s absolutely worth it.

The week ended with another great Oktoberfest (this time an official one), a very solid pumpkin ale (though I think I might be growing tired of them), and a pretty intense stout.  The stout sort of threw me for a loop, because it’s been the first beer from Sierra Nevada that I haven’t been a complete fan of. The Sierra Nevada wasn’t watery and smooth like Guiness at all.  It was intense and abrasive. I’m not sure it’s this particular beer I don’t love, the style itself, or just the fact that I haven’t had that many stouts.  Whatever the reason, I’m in serious need of a stout education.

Any suggestions?

This entry was posted in Beer.

2 comments on “The Beer List: Looks CAN be deceiving.

  1. Mr. Mustache says:

    North Coast Old Rasputin!!!!! Great introduction to Imperial Stouts

    What was the SN stout called?

  2. Andy says:

    I think I remember you telling me to try that a while ago… I’ll definitely keep an eye out for it. And the SN was just called Stout – I’ve only seen it one time and it was at Trader Joe’s. Very elusive.

Leave a Reply

