On recipes, creation, and pumpkin soup…

When I started this blog, I made a conscious decision not to post recipes.  It’s not that I have anything against recipe blogs (in fact, I love them) – it’s just that I didn’t think I’d have anything of value to contribute to the vast internet world of home cooks.  It would be embarrassing having my ideas ignored, critiqued, and in general swallowed up by the dark matter of cyberspace.

But I must admit, now that a couple of months have passed, my opinion on the matter is a little different. 

For one, my hours of experimenting in the kitchen have actually paid off here and there.  Much more importantly, though, I’m beginning to realize that the real fun of cooking (and of blogging, for that matter) isn’t in the quality of the finished product, but in the action itself.  It’s the doing it that matters.

My friend, Andrew, introduced me to this concept recently – the importance of Creating – and it’s had a huge impact on me.  With so many things in life, instinctive fear impulses (like worrying about how a project will come out, trying to control how you’ll be perceived by others, etc.) do way more harm than good.  Instead of acting as a quality control for creation, they often serve as a paralyzing roadblock, preventing you from taking on the creative endeavor in the first place.  Instead, if you learn to identify these fear impulses and ignore them, you’ll be happier, more creative, and (probably) produce better stuff as a result.

Photo thanks to TrueDeliciousLove.com

Back on point: I’m now posting recipes.  The real impetus to this was a soup I made for Laura on Halloween that came out pretty tasty.  Rather than forget it, I wrote it down.  Rather than hide it under a bushel, I shared it with all of you.  Deal with it.

And so I give you my Halloween Pumpkin soup.  Remember: double points if you serve the soup in hollowed out sugar pumpkins (triple if you float fake eyeballs on top)…

Halloween Pumpkin Soup

  • 1.5 cups pumpkin puree
  • Roasting veggies: 2 apples, 1 fennel bulb, 1 sweet potato, half an onion
  • 4 cups chicken stock
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup water (depending on how thick you want it)
  • cinnamon, ginger, curry, and cumin, to taste
  • salt + pep

Basically, just roast the veggies until soft, combine everything, and puree.  It’s that simple.  And with the spices, my personal belief is “more is more” – not the other way around.

One comment on “On recipes, creation, and pumpkin soup…

  1. […] Soup and a bangin’ Kale Salad. The recipe for the soup can be found on Andy’s website here. First he roasted pumpkin, sweet potatoes, fennel, apples and onion and then pureed the ingredients […]

Leave a Reply

