Parsnips? For real?

How is it that a vegetable as over-the-top delicious as a parsnip can fly so under the radar?

I admit I haven’t always been the veggiophile I am now.  I also admit it’s not my first time hearing about these things.  But still – why on earth did it take 24 years to realize just how tasty the parsnip is?

If you’re as in the dark as I was, a parsnip is basically a sweeter, paler carrot.  Doesn’t sound that exciting, does it?  Taste one and get back to me.  I suggest cooking them the same way I did – it’s easy, simple, and weirdly delicious:   

Like salted, charred marshmallows.

Roasted Parsnips and Carrots

  • About 2-3 lbs of parsnips and carrots
  • salt and pepper

Heat a pot of water on the stove and preheat the oven to 450 degrees.  Cut the veggies in half lengthwise and then into chunks about an inch long.  Once the water’s boiling, add the chunks.  After about 3 minutes, take the veggies out and put them on a baking sheet.  Drizzle some olive oil and add salt and pepper.  Roast the veggies until they’re a little charred on the outside (30 minutes?).

What you should end up with are little morsels of sweet creamy veggies encased in a chewy, caramelized crust.  Parsnips.  Who knew?

Leave a Reply

