Sunday Morning Pancakes (and a new camera!)

It’s been a long time coming, but I finally made pancakes this morning.  The decision was made last night, over beers.  My roommate, Dan, suggested Sunday pancakes, and I realized I had no grounds to argue.  Pancakes had to be done.  After consulting one of my favorite food writers, Mark Bittman (more to come on him later in the week), I got to work.

a sign of good things to come

My recipe was adapted from Bittman’s Everyday Pancakes from the New York Times.  For the cup of white flour, I substituted a half-cup of whole wheat and a half-cup of oat flour.  I also used olive oil and maple for the butter/sugar.  My favorite adjustment, though, was heating up the milk and infusing it with Indian spiced tea.  Cinnamon, clove, and orange zest rounded it all up.

griddlin!

With the pancakes I made what has become my favorite breakfast condiment: fruit chutney.  This time, I diced and browned an apple, then added a fresh orange, spices, and vanilla.  You can imagine the smells filling my apartment last night.

Everything was prepped before bedtime, and when my alarm went off I shot out of bed with the urgency of a kid on Christmas morning.  My clamor woke Dan up, who didn’t seem to mind when I told him the pancakes were almost done. 

breakfast

And the result?  Tasty.  Very tasty.  I was surprised at how fluffy and flavorful the pancakes were (despite the healthy substitutions) and the chutney was (expectedly) real good.  I had finally made pancakes, and I made them my way.  The result was tastier and easier than I had expected.  Not at all a bad start to a lazy Sunday.

By the way, these were all shot with my new Nikon D3100.  Eatinggoodly just got a facelift.

Bengal Spice Pancakes

  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup oat flour
  • 1 teaspoons baking powder
  • behind the scenes

    cinnamon, clove, orange zest, vanilla extract

  • pinch of salt
  • 1 teaspoon maple syrup
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • a little less than a cup of milk infused with Bengal Spice tea

Orange Spiced Chutney

  • 1 apple, diced
  • juice and chunks of 1 orange
  • cinnamon, clove, orange zest
  • pinch of salt
  • vanilla extract
  • lots of water
One comment on “Sunday Morning Pancakes (and a new camera!)

  1. Joan Rowett says:

    Sounds delicious! Can’t wait to try this one .

Leave a Reply

